by admin

Allah the Almighty with Him are the keys (treasures) of the unseen. None but He knows them: and He (alone) knows what is in the land and the sea. Not a leaf falls but He knows of it, and there is not a grain in the darkest (recess) of the earth, nor anything wet or dry, but is in a clear book.

Peace and blessings be upon the Final Messenger Muhammad (saw), on his family and his noble companions.

During one’s life time a Muslim is required to perform Hajj (Pilgrimage) at Makkah during the prescribed month of Dhul-Hijjah, if one is able to do so. Abilities to perform Hajj are mainly the knowledge of Hajj ritual, financial provisions and being physically fit (good Health) to perform Hajj.

Hajj al-Tamattu means ‘to enjoy’ (freedom from) or the relaxation of the Ihram restrictions between the Umrah and Hajj, including its dress code and various prohibitions. It involves performing Umrah during the months of Hajj (Shawwal, Dhul-Qadah and Dhul-Hijjah).

Depending on the travel itinerary, pilgrims after the Ziyarah at Madinah the City of the Prophet(saw), on their way to perform Umrah in Makkah pilgrims most stopover at the ‘Miqat’ Dhul-Hulaifah (the station where intention are taken) for all pilgrims coming from Madinah. Pilgrim proclaims intention for Umrah alone (Allahumma Labaika Umratan) and recite the Talbiyah at the Miqat. After taking bath and performing 2 rakaáts of Nafilah sallah.

The Talbiyah is a declaration uttered by pilgrims during Hajj or Umrah after making the intention to enter into the state of Ihram. The Talbiyah is being repeated continuously throughout the journey to the city of Makkah Al-Mukarramah.

Labbayka -llāhumma labbayka, labbayka la sharīka laka labbayka, ʾinna -l-ḥamda wa-n-niʿmata laka wa-l-mulka la sharīka lak.

(“Here I am [at your service] O Allah, here I am. Here I am [at your service]. You have no partners, here I am. To You alone is all praise and all excellence, and to You is all sovereignty. There is no partner to You.”)

On entering the Masjid Al Haram (Holy Mosque) in Makkah the pilgrim proceeds to the Hajaral Aswad (Black Stone) corner of the Ka’aba to begin the Tawaf of umrah (Tawaf Qudum) that is to circle (to walk round) the Holy Ka’aba seven times in a counterclockwise direction. Men only are required to uncover right shoulder by placing Ihram underneath right arm-pit and jog in the first three circuits.

During the Hajj and Umrah pilgrims are required to perform the Sa’ay that is to walk (and jog for men) between mount Safa and Marwa seven times. Upon reaching the green light Men only are required to run within the green light only.

Allah (saw) said in the Quran:

“Surely the Safa and Marwa are among the signs appointed by Allah so whoever makes a pilgrimage to the House or pays a visit (to it), there is no blame on him if he goes round them both; and whoever does good spontaneously, then surely Allah is Grateful, Knowing” [Q2:158]

To conclude the Umarah the pilgrim shaves his head or trim down his hair.  Pilgrim is now free of all ihram restrictions now wait for the 8th day of Dhul-Hijjah to start the Hajj rituals.

8th day of Dhul-Hijjah

The first day of Hajj is known as Yawmut Tarwiyah (Day of Quenching Thirst). Pilgrims enter the state of Ihram from their abode in Makkah, make intention for Hajj by proclaiming ‘Allahumma Labaika Hajjan’ and utter the Talbiyyah same as that of Umrah.

Pilgrims will proceed to Mina (referred to as the tent city) and pray Dhuhur, Asr, Magrib and Isha’. (4 raka’ats prayers shortened to two raka’ats) Engage in ibadah all day in Mina.

9th day Dhul-Hijjah Yawmul Arafah.

The Prophet (saw) said: “Hajj is ‘Arafah’ There is no day on which Allah frees people from the Hell (Fire) more than on the day of ‘Arafah. He comes close to those (people standing on ‘Arafah), and then He boasts before His Angels saying, ‘What are these people seeking”

Pilgrims proceeds to and remain in the plain of Arafah until sunset. Stand upon the rocks at the bottom of the Mount of Mercy (Jabalur-Rahmah); if not, then all of Arafah is a standing place. Facing the Qiblah, with raised hands,supplicate and also recite the Talbiyah. It is encouraged to frequently recite the following;

 “La ilaha ill Allahu wahdahu laa shareeka lahu lahul mulk wa lahul hamdu wa huwa’alaa kulli shay ‘in qadeer”

(There is none truly worthy of worship except Allah alone, without partner. To Him belongs all Sovereignty and all Praise, and He is Omnipotent over all things).

The Prophet(saw) said the most excellent dua is the dua on the Day of Arafah, and the best of what I and the prophets before me have said.This is the best supplication to recite on this great day.

After sunset, pilgrims depart Arafah and head to Muzdalifah – an open plain between Mina and Arafah. At Muzdalifah pilgrim will perform Maghrib and Isha Salah, one after the other, shortening the Isha Sallah to two raka’ats. Pilgrims spend the night resting. Pilgrim can pick the pebbles to be used for symbolic stoning of devil at Muzdalifah.

10th day of Dhul-Hijjah (Eid Adha)

Pray Fajr in Muzdalifah, leave for Mina before sunrise calmly proceed to Jamaratul-’Aqabah for stoning, throw seven stones at the Jamarah saying Allahu Akbar (Allah is the Greatest) after each throw.

Performing the Hadaya (Sacrifice), proceed to slaughter house in Mina for sacrifice. But if a sacrificial ticket has already been purchased by the pilgrim, it is a permissible alternative.

Shaving hair after the sacrifice is more preferable for Men, or trim hair, for Women: cut one-third finger length of hair.

After shaving/trimming of hair pilgrim can remove Ihram and remain in Mina, as all ihram restrictions are now lifted except conjugal restrictions.

Alternatively, pilgrim can proceed to Makkah to perform Tawaful-Ifa’adhah and Sa’ay for Hajj. (Same as that of Umrah, except the intention and uncovering the right arm) upon the completion of the Sa’ay, all restrictions are now lifted.

Pilgrim is required to return back to Mina on the 10th of Dhul-Hijjah before Magrib to stay for 2 or 3 days consecutively.

11th, 12th and 13th days of Dhul-Hijjah

It is the Sunnah of the prophet(saw) to recite the Tahleel, Takbeer, and Tahmeed as many times as possible on the day of Arafah and also on the days of Tashreeq (11th, 12th, and 13th of Dhul Hijjah).

Pilgrims are required to from the time between after Zawal (sun at highest point) until the nightfall, to stone all three Jamarats with 7 pebbles each making 21 pebbles per day.

Before final departure from the holy land pilgrim is required to perform Tawaful Wada’a (Farewell Tawaf) as the last act of the journey of Faith, Tauheed and Taqwah.

Abba Yusuf wrote this piece from Kano – Nigeria.

[email protected]

You may also like